Archive | Front Page

RSS feed for this section

New Mainsails thanks to JPMorgan Chase!


by Chris Goddard of CGPR and Elizabeth De Witt This is a story about a collaboration between a dedicated sail maker and the BCTR’s presenting sponsor JPMorgan Chase. A collaboration to design the new mainsails for the Baldwin Cup Team Race at NHYC. (And no, this is not the beginning of a cheeky power point or […]

The Bulldogs: Yale Corinthian


Starting us off Team Captain Phil on the Yale team: Please tell us a little bit about team racing at your club Yale Corinthian Yacht Club (pronounced yick-yick) had been in its present location from the early 20th century and in its most recent, renovated form since the mid 00s. In addition to hosting the […]

Lightning Strike!

Meet Team Lightning

Now that we’ve deafened our ears with NHYC Thunder, now introducing Newport Harbor Yacht Club Team Lightning!! Skipper Bill “20 Knot Bill” Menninger Where are ya from and where did you sail in college? Palos Verdes, CA and UC Santa Barbara What did you learn to sail in? Guppies and Dink Kittens What is your […]

Here comes the BOOM!

Meet Team Thunder

Thunder may follow lightning in nature, but NHYC Team Thunder has no intentions of following anyone this weekend at Baldwin Cup—or even in this year’s Racer Questionnaire Responses. Let’s meet the first eight racers of Baldwin Cup 2014 from the home club’s Team Thunder Skipper Justin “Lawman” Law Where are ya from and where did […]

Welcome 2014 Teams!

2014 Team Announcement

Newport Harbor Yacht Club is pleased to announce the accepted invitations for 7th annual, Baldwin Cup Team Race at NHYC 2014: Balboa Yacht Club New York Yacht Club Royal Thames Yacht Club Seattle Yacht Club San Diego Yacht Club Seawanhaka Corinthian Yacht Club Southern Yacht Club St. Francis Yacht Club Texas Corinthian Yacht Club Yale […]

2013 in Review


by Elizabeth De Witt The 2013 Baldwin Cup Team Race at Newport Harbor Yacht Club brought many firsts. Baldwin Cup rookies, both sailors and whole teams alike. 12 teams competing. 142 races run. Our own inflatable zoo. 2.00 dollar chardonnays joining the 25¢ beers. A fully cleared mooring field—including the balls. And of course a […]